‘Wikis Work!’ session features blogger Kris Olsen, May 24, 2006

Kris Olsen, blogger and wiki expert, will present “Wikis Work!” on May 24 at noon ET as part of a new eXtension professional development series. The program will be available through your web browser at http://breeze.extension.iastate.edu/learn.

In this 90-minute session, Olsen, who blogs about wikis and group activities at WikiThat.com, will show how to make wikis work for almost any collaborative project. Wikis, collections of web pages that can be created and updated directly by group members, have long been used by web and software developers to stay on track with group projects. Wikis aren’t just for developers, though, according to Olsen. “The wiki is a simple tool that solves the chaos of groups and activities. They provide the group with the means to grow a body of knowledge or capture the information needed for any project and activity,” Olsen says in “Wiki That!” “Wikis provide a place for the process to unfold in a single, accessible location, allowing the group to get the job done better, faster and cheaper.”

This professional development session is open to all extension colleagues across the country.

Event: Kris Olsen, “Wikis Work!”
Date: Wednesday, May 24, 2006
Time: 12 p.m. Eastern (9 a.m. Pacific, 10 a.m. Mountain, 11 a.m. Central) 90 minute session
Web Location: http://breeze.extension.iastate.edu/learn

Share

Comments are closed.

Blog Front page